Surgical Technology Licensure Disclosure

Upon completion of an <u>Associate of Applied Science in Surgical Technology</u>, students will be prepared to begin a career as a surgical technologist. Students are prepared to sit for the national examination to become a Certified Surgical Technologist through <u>The National Board of Surgical Technology and</u> <u>Surgical Assisting</u>. Not all states require certification; Montana does not require surgical technologists to follow certain regulations before becoming employed.

Only students who have attended CAAHEP and ABHES accredited program are eligible to take the national certification exam administered by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA). FVCC's surgical technology program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).Passing the national examination qualifies the individual as a Certified Surgical Technologist (CST®). The <u>Association of Surgical Technologists</u> (AST) recommends that all surgical technologists obtain this certification.

This disclosure indicates, as of May 19, 2022, the states that FVCC has determined through a reasonable, good faith effort that the surgical technology program meets or does not meet the educational requirements for licensure or certification, or for which states FVCC has yet to make a determination.

If you are planning to pursue professional licensure or certification in a state other than Montana, we recommend that you contact the appropriate licensing board in that state to seek information and guidance regarding licensure or certification requirements before beginning an academic program.

| Professional | Meets Educational |
|------------------------|-------------------------|
| Licensure Board | Requirements for |
| Website by State and | Licensure |
| Territory | |
| Alabama * | N/A |
| Alaska * | N/A |
| Arizona * | N/A |
| <u>Arkansas</u> | Meets |
| California * | N/A |
| <u>Colorado</u> | Undetermined |
| Connecticut * | N/A |
| Delaware * | N/A |
| District of Columbia | Meets |
| Florida * | N/A |
| Georgia * | N/A |
| Hawaii * | N/A |
| Idaho | Meets |
| Illinois | Undetermined |
| Indiana | Meets |
| Iowa * | N/A |
| Kansas * | N/A |
| Kentucky | Meets |
| Louisiana * | N/A |
| Maine * | N/A |
| Maryland * | N/A |
| Massachusetts | Meets |

| Michigan * | N/A |
|------------------|--------------|
| Minnesota * | N/A |
| Mississippi * | N/A |
| Missouri * | N/A |
| Montana * | N/A |
| Nebraska * | N/A |
| Nevada | Undetermined |
| New Hampshire * | N/A |
| New Jersey | Meets |
| New Mexico * | N/A |
| New York | Meets |
| North Carolina * | N/A |
| North Dakota | Undetermined |
| Ohio * | N/A |
| Oklahoma * | N/A |
| Oregon | Meets |
| Pennsylvania | Meets |
| Puerto Rico * | N/A |
| Rhode Island * | N/A |
| South Carolina | Meets |
| South Dakota * | Undetermined |
| Tennessee | Meets |
| Texas | Meets |
| Utah * | N/A |
| Vermont * | N/A |
| Virgin Islands * | N/A |
| Virginia | Undetermined |
| Washington | Undetermined |
| West Virginia * | N/A |
| Wisconsin * | N/A |
| Wyoming * | N/A |

*Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming do not require certification for surgical technologists at this time.